editorial board

Published by Comparative Cognition Society


Anna Wilkinson University of Lincoln

Anna is interested in how animals perceive the world, how they learn about their environment and how they use and retain this information. Anna received her PhD from University of York (UK) in 2008 where she studied avian visual perception under the supervision of Kim Kirkpatrick. She then went on to do a postdoctoral fellowship investigating the role of experience on perception and cognition in birds at the University of Vienna with Ludwig Huber. Alongside her research with birds, she started working on reptile cognition during her PhD, this expanded into the cold-blooded cognition lab which she established in Vienna and then brought with her to Lincoln when she was appointed in 2010. She is currently a Reader in the School of Life Sciences at the University of Lincoln.

Marisa Hoeschele Austrian Academy of Sciences

Marisa received her PhD in 2013 from the Department of Psychology at the University of Alberta, where she studied pitch perception in vocal learning species with Dr. Chris Sturdy. She then moved on to a postdoctoral fellowship at the Department of Cognitive Biology at the University of Vienna where she built a budgerigar laboratory. Marisa’s primary area of research is the comparative cognition of musicality — the biological underpinnings of human music. In 2018, Marisa moved to the Acoustics Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences where she established and now leads the Musicality and Bioacoustics group.

Editorial Board

Peter Balsam Barnard College, Columbia University
Michael Beran Georgia State University
Verner Bingman Bowling Green State University
Aaron Blaisdell University of California at Los Angeles
Laurie Bloomfield Algoma University
Kent Bodily Georgia Southern University
David Brodbeck Algoma University
Leyre Castro University of Iowa
Ken Cheng Macquarie University
Lauren Guillette University of Alberta
Susan Healy University of St Andrews
Karen Hollis Mount Holyoke College
Debbie Kelly University of Manitoba
Kimberly Kirkpatrick Kansas State University
Suzanne MacDonald York University
James Mazur Southern Connecticut State University
Neil McMillan Melbourne, Australia
Eduardo Mercado III SUNY Buffalo
Leslie Phillmore Dalhousie University
Toru Shimizu University of South Florida
Brad Sturz Georgia Southern University

Past Editors:
Ron Weisman (2006–2011), Queen’s University
Robert Cook (2006–2011), Tufts University
Tom Zentall (2012–2014), Kentucky University
Christopher Sturdy (2012-2017), University of Alberta
Marcia Spetch (2015-2020), University of Alberta

Publication Group

ccs_logo_150Publisher for the Comparative Cognition Society:
Robert Cook, Tufts University (publisher.ccbr@gmail.com)
Web Design: ePublishingPartners, Inc.
Web Coordinator: Miranda Design Studio, Inc.
Copyediting: Amy V. O. Maffei
Graphics Editor: Monica Hurt
Assistant Publisher: Muhammad Qadri, Tufts University

Past Publisher:
Ron Weisman (2006-2013), Queen’s University